With Just A Hint Of Amelia

Princess Amelia celebrates the birthday of Mr Jones

Posted on: January 8, 2012

Princess Amelia I hope that you are sitting comfortably because this months post is about someone you will be hearing a lot more about over the years. In fact your Royal Mummy and Daddy may have already warned you about this. I hope that you still like his music in 20 years, but we’ll have to let you and time decide that one won’t we? Anyway the person I am talking about is 65 today, 8th January. He was born David Robert Jones in 1947 in South London. He is now known as David Bowie, I believe that Godderwil’s Royal Family probably know who he is.

Mr Bowie when he was even younger that Catherine Amelia Williams

David Bowie will be a regular subject of your blog over the years, so I will start with a relatively gentle post this time. I know that when I included some film of him as Ziggy Stardust a few months ago you were a little scared and I understand that your little highness 🙂

So what can I include in this post that will not scare you or mean that you will never want to listen to Mr Bowie again? I have a few little ditties that you and your subjects in Godderwil should find to be a lot of fun. The first song is “The Laughing Gnome” which he recorded in 1967. In those days he had wanted to become just an all round entertainer and in later years this song came back to haunt and embarrass him. It even arrived in the charts when he was a true Rock God in 1973. That was the year my own Daddy told me that I was not allowed to see Mr Bowie because he was just a little too strange.

The second song is a wonderful little tune that he wrote for his young son who was born 39 years before you in May 1971. He was known by many names including the rather funny Zowie. As he got older he called himself Joe and these days he is called Duncan Jones and he is a film producer. His real name is Duncan Zowie Haywood Jones. The words of the song are sung directly to Duncan/ Joe/ Zowie but they could also be sung by any Daddy to their child. Maybe we should see if we can get your Daddy to sing it to you? It is called “Kooks” and was on David Bowie’s ‘Hunky Dory‘ album from 1971.

David with his son Duncan Jones

David and his wife Iman's daughter Alexandria who was born in August 2000, so she will be 12 this year

Finally I have included one of the best songs from a film that David appeared in; the film is called ‘Labyrinth’ and came out in 1986. Bowie starred in the movie as Jareth the Goblin King. Aunty Catherine and me will watch it with you when you get a bit older. The song is called “Magic Dance” and I think it’s only right that you lead the whole of the Godderwil Royal family in a special dance to celebrate David Bowie’s birthday.

Bowie as Jareth the Goblin King

3 Responses to "Princess Amelia celebrates the birthday of Mr Jones"

Just wanted to point out that this a photo of Willow Smith daughter of Will Smith. Not David Bowie. Gotta keep better tabs on your sources Amelia…

Yep. This is a pic of Willow Smith. I was so confused when I saw that this image was posted in several places as Alexandria Bowie.

You are absolutely correct. I searched for Alexandra Bowie and this is what came up. I have decided not to change the post as it is clear from the comments what has happened. But a big thank you to all of you that have pointed it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,918 hits

Top Clicks

  • None
Follow With Just A Hint Of Amelia on WordPress.com

Top Clicks

  • None
